Recalling Al DelBello

Westchester lost one of its great sons today.  Former County Executive and Lt. Governor Al DelBello has died at 80 years young.

Al DelBello

Al DelBello/courtesy Patch.com

We came up together, so to speak. Mr. DelBello’s political career and my journalism career were on parallele timelines. I was a young cub reporter spending lonely weekend nights looking for news.  Al always had something for me.  I would call him at home nearly every Sunday night in the early 80s.  If Dee, his lovely wife, answered, she would kindly call him to the phone and we would create news on the spot.  He never brushed me off.  He never thought this local kid reporter was too inexperienced to bother with.  No, he took his time and always gave me a tidbit to leave for the news desk come Monday morning.  I miss those calls.  They don’t make politicians like Al DelBello any longer.  Honest, caring, every man and woman’s leader.

I hadn’t seen him in about two years.  The last time was at one of Dee’s business breakfasts. They always stood by and supported each other. They don’t make love like that any longer either.

Rest in peace Al DelBello. You will be missed.

