Westchester attorney on how her Job was made easier thanks to Steve

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” [Steve Jobs – Stanford commencement speech, June 2005]

True visionaries are applauded during their lifetime but often are forgotten just a scant few decades after their passing.  Such will not be the case with Steve Jobs.

David Sarnoff and William Paley created the mega broadcasting conglomerates we know today and that was only 90 years ago.  We would not have radio and TV without them.

Alexander Graham Bell invented the phone and that was 155 years ago.  They are each now a note in a history book.  Sure, biographies have been written about them but most children today can barely identify those visionaries.

Steve Jobs 1955-2011Steve Jobs gave birth to Apple just 27 years ago and the world is a greatly different place on so many levels.

I remember my Dad buying the family a $15,000 mega Macintosh system in the mid-80s.  It had a special office in the house and came with all these “Dad” rules for entering and use of the computers.  It was hysterical.  We each got a lecture and then he would post notes above each component about what we could and could not do in that office.  The Macintosh was revered and the wrath of Dad would come down on anyone who dared to bring even a drink into that room.

Friends and neighbors came over to “stare” at it, much the way they would visit neighbors who got the first color TV in the 1950 and 60s!  It’s funny, now that I think about it, but thank God my Dad was a visionary for buying it because it changed my life.

It opened the world of media for this journalist.  I was able to edit at home and did not have to go into a recording studio to create.  I launched my own production company from that office.  Jotted my first novel on that Mac and it even got me through law school with alllll of those case notes.  (I only tossed the original discs in the trash last year when I moved my law practice.)

The world, today, mourns a giant of his lifetime.  Society-at-large, tomorrow, will still be talking about how he changed our lives forever.

