Next week’s midterm elections will tell the tale in Washington

I have been practicing law for 13 years yet I am still referred to by some of my more conservative colleagues as “one of those liberal media types” each time I disagree with their anti-Obama rhetoric.  I will readily admit to being a Democrat and I will readily admit to having voted for Obama because  for the past 3 Presidential elections I have voted based on the choice of vice-president rather than who would hold the top seat.  That being said, this country is in a mess whether we selected Republican or Democrat the last few times at bat.

With any luck, Obama will be a one-term President.  I say with any luck because until I see what the GOP is offering, I can’t decide what I will do two years from now.  What I do know is that come Tuesday my vote in the midterm elections is still up for grabs and that has Democrats doing cartwheels to get my attention, everything from emails from top leaders I haven’t heard from since my mic-waving days at WINS and WCBS to campaigners knocking on my door at ungodly hours.  That is the most offensive because I can just delete the emails without opening them to know they belong in my junk file.  However, when Dems come a callin’ at my house at 8:30p at night, well, they’ve just lost my vote.  When I politely tell them that I am not interested in their shpeel and then get barraged with “Why, you’re not voting on Tuesday?” they have really ticked me off.  These little door-knockin’, political wannabes have absolutely no right to harass me at home.

Listen up candidates, whatever your party affiliation, if you want  my vote, tell me how you’re going to clean up this mess.  Tell me how you’re going to revitalize this economy so that a solo practitioner with more degrees than your campaigning door-knockers can afford to live in New York State.  Tell me how my elderly mother can survive on social security which hasn’t give the seniors a raise in three years?  Tell me why my health insurance has gone up more than 40% in two years and likely another 20% this year while my deductible has tripled.  None of you can answer any of these vital questions with any clarity or absolute plan of action – not a one of you.  When you can, then I’ll be doing cartwheels and knockin’ on your door to personally thank you!  Until then, leave me alone!

