Westchester attorney says it’s time for action not speeches on US debt crisis

As a kid we all have fantasy jobs – mine was an astronaut for the longest time and then, when I finally became a network journalist, my dream job changed and I wanted to be the White House press secretary.  I figured if I was going to be a paid flak I might as well dream big, right?  A trip to the West Wing with my graduate journalism class cemented the dream.

Give me something to believe in again!

Then life happens while you’re busy dreaming and a journalism career gave away to law school but that did not erase the morning habit of watching all three network news programs simultaneously.  So, this morning, I woke up and turned on my two TVs. (I still don’t have picture in picture)  and I watched President Obama’s press secretary, Jay Carney, in his briefing about the budget crisis.  He looked awful and he’s only been on the job less than two months.  Some Presidents go through staff quicker than others and as the face of the administration, press secretary has got to be the toughest position.  You may think I’m crazy but think about it……….Cabinet members make tough decisions but they are shielded, just as the Chief of Staff.  The press doesn’t get near them unless there’s a photo op or an interview granted.  It’s the press secretary who must face the world each day and the hardened West Wing media corps.  It is the press secretary who must deliver good or bad news from a podium in front of barking reporters.  It is the press secretary who must be wondering how can I sell this crap to the American people.  And you wonder why Jay Carney looks awful after less than two months on the job?

President Obama with press Secretary Jay Carney

Just listen to how little was said during yesterday’s briefing on deficit reduction.  Carney is well paid to say nothing and we are paying him to say nothing.  Is this a great country, or what?

This administration knew the economy was its biggest crisis upon election and what has been done in the past two years?  Right now foreign countries hold 1/3 of the note on the the US debt….the Chinese hold more than a $trillion, while the Germans now own the New York Stock Exchange (which they bought at a bargain rate, by the way).

I am not an economist and I won’t pretend to be one of those media pundits who spout drivel as they feign some sense of expertise.  I am an American who sees this country in the worst economic shape it has ever been in and we have a White House talking about raising the debt ceiling so more foreigners can own a piece of us.  Something’s wrong in these United States, to borrow a turn of phrase.

If I was in debt to the tune of $14.29 trillion and tried to raise my debt ceiling without cutting spending, I would be laughed at by every bank who held my credit lines.  Yet, here we are, an alleged super power with a super idiot in the White House being advised by “expert” economists as to how to dig a deeper financial hole………I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, the crazy train bypassed Washington a long time ago while the insane rocket has blasted us into the stratosphere of stupidity.

Those in favor of raising the debt ceiling beyond the already unthinkable $14.29 trillion claim that unless the United States is allowed to borrow more money then the nation will default by early summer.  Hey, if you thought the savings and loan crisis, the Madoff Scandal and the bank bailout were bad, you have no idea what a U.S. default would do to the global economy.

Raising the debt ceiling is nothing new on the Hill.  They’ve done it dozens of times in the last half-century, ten of those times in the last ten years since 911.  And sometimes, just sometimes, you have to restructure your debt to get out of it……….sometimes you just have to say enough is enough.  I don’t know what we do at this point. I don’t have the easy solution and I doubt that the old guard or the new Tea Party does either but unless drastic measures are taken immediately and not just “discussed,” bread lines, soup kitchens and “Made in China” will all take on new meaning for a country whose streets used to sparkle with the dreams of visionaries for a better tomorrow.